Obtaining a divorce in Mississippi with children can lead to many unanswered questions. One of the main questions asked of parents is how much child support will the custodial parent receives? The state uses a formula to determine the amount of support required to help raise the children following the divorce.
The Mississippi Bar understands that child support is highly contentious and emotional. Parents should remember that the obligation of support is for the child, not the soon-to-be ex-spouse. Failure to receive child support does not grant the custodial parent permission to refuse visitation to the supporting parent.
Child support maintenance extends until the child is 21 years of age. Oftentimes, the mother is the primary custodial parent with the father offering support payments for the child. The custodial parent can request changes in the amount of support to cover additional expenses or inflation adjustments, but only through the court system.
Mississippi Senate Bill No 2522 amended the child support law for the state in 2019. The law modifies child support based on a set amount per the number of children shared by the supporting parent and the custodial parent. The amounts range from $600 for a single child to $1600 for four or more children.
For a couple going through a divorce, the parent taking over custodial parentage of the child or children must show the courts the amended law is unfair in order to modify the payment amount. The state changed how the base income for the supportive parent. These changes include tax deductions to gross income along with any children of other relationships.